BEN Outstanding Teacher Awards Nominating Committee 2021

The BEN Outstanding Teacher Award presented by Allied World gives us a unique opportunity to recognize excellence within the teaching profession and the Bermuda public education system. The Nominating Committee are made up of friends of BEN who have committed to a peer-led process on a voluntary basis.

The majority of the panel members are practicing teachers and previous BEN Outstanding Teacher Award winners. We try to include representation from across the educational spectrum. We are grateful to these dedicated professionals who give their time to ensure a smooth and credible process for those involved and to help celebrate the amazing educators in one of the most important industries in the world.

Meet the Committee

Lauren Yelle-Simmons, Education and Programmes Manager, Bermuda Sloop Foundation

Nacheeka Trott, Mathematics Senior Lecturer, Bermuda College

Edmieko Butterfield, School Counselor at Department of Education

Taylor Hewitt, Mathematics Teacher, Berkeley Institute (BEN Outstanding Teacher Award Nominee 2018)

Georgina Tucker-Bell, Educational Therapy, Whitney Institute

Jennifer Lang, Head Teacher, Kaleidoscope Foundation

Jeanna Furbert, Teacher, Francis Patton Primary School

Becky Ausenda, Chair of the Board, Bermuda Education Network